Setting Up a Criteria Workflow

This topic covers these screens:

Workflow Admin/Criteria Tab

Access the Criteria tab by clicking the tab on the Workflow Admin screen. Use it to add, edit, enable, disable, and delete Criteria workflows and sub-workflows.

Field

Description

Name

Lists the workflow names.

Status

The status of the workflow: enabled or disabled.

Security Group

The security group that will cause the file to enter the workflow.

Important: If the security group of a checked in file does not match the security group of the workflow, the file will not enter the workflow.

Add (Workflow)

Opens the New Criteria Workflow screen.

Edit (Workflow)

Opens the Edit Criteria Workflow Workflow Name screen.

Delete (Workflow)

Enables you to delete the selected workflow.

Criteria

Shows the criteria defined for the selected workflow.

Steps

Lists the steps and step types included in the selected workflow.

Add (Step)

Opens the Add New Step screen.

Edit (Step)

Opens the Edit Step Step Name screen.

Delete (Step)

Enables you to delete the selected step.

Enable

Enables the selected workflow.

Disable

Disables the selected workflow. If there are any content items still in the workflow process, all of the content revisions will be released to the system before the workflow is disabled.

New Criteria Workflow/Edit Criteria Workflow Workflow Name

Access this screen from the Criteria tab of the Workflow Admin screen by clicking Add or Edit in the left pane. Use it to add or edit a Criteria workflow or sub-workflow.

Field

Description

Workflow Name

The name for the workflow. The Workflow Name has a maximum field length of 30 characters, and the following characters are NOT acceptable: spaces, tabs, and the symbols ; ^ : @ & + " # % < > * ~ |

Description

A description of the workflow.

Security Group

Specifies the security group that the revisions must be in to enter the workflow process.

Use Template

Select this check box if you want to use a workflow template. This box is displayed on the New Criteria Workflow screen only if a template exists.

Has Criteria Definition

Selected: Criteria workflow

Cleared: Sub-workflow

Field

The metadata field that will be evaluated when each file is checked in. Options are Content ID, Author, Type, Account (if accounts are enabled), and any custom metadata fields that you have created.

Operator

Defaults to matches.

Value

The Field value that will cause a file to enter the workflow.

Wildcards can be used in this field. Use standard wildcard values:

* = one or more characters; ? = single character.

Is Collaboration Project

Selected: Collaboration workflow

Cleared: Standard Criteria workflow

Add New Step/Edit Step Step Name

Access this screen from the Criteria tab by selecting a workflow and clicking Add or Edit in the right pane. Use it to add or edit a workflow step.

 

Field

Description

Name

The name for the step. Typically this the type of review (such as initial review or copy edit) or the function of the reviewer (such as manager or copy editor).

Description

A description for the step.

Type

Reviewer: Approves or rejects the revision.

Reviewer/Contributor: Can edit the revision and approves or rejects it.

User Tab

 

Alias/User

Lists the users, aliases, and tokens currently assigned to the step.

Add Aliases

Opens the Add Alias to Step screen.

Add User

Opens the Add User to Step screen.

Add Token

Opens the Add Token to Step screen.

Delete

Enables you to delete the selected step from the workflow.

Exit Conditions Tab

 

All reviewers

If this is selected, all users assigned to the step must approve the revision before the workflow passes to the next step.

At least this many reviewers

If this is selected, the workflow passes to the next step as soon as the number of users specified have approved the revision.

Important: You can enter zero (0) in this field to notify reviewers that the revision has reached the step, but reviewers will not be able to approve, reject, or edit the revision at that step. The workflow will pass to the next step automatically.

Use Additional Exit Condition

If this is selected, the conditions defined in the text box must be met before the workflow passes to the next step.

Edit

Opens the Edit Additional Exit Condition screen.

Clear

Clears the Exit Condition text box.

Add Alias to Step

Access this screen from the Criteria tab by selecting a workflow, selecting a step in the right pane, clicking Add or Edit in the right pane, and clicking Add Alias on the Add New Step or Edit Step Step Name screen. Use this screen to assign an alias to a workflow step.

Field

Description

Alias

Lists the available aliases.

Description

A description of the alias.

Add User to Step

Access this screen from the Criteria tab by selecting a workflow, selecting a step in the right pane, clicking Add or Edit in the right pane, and clicking Add User on the Add New Step or Edit Step Step Name screen. Use this screen to assign a specific user login to a workflow step.

Field

Description

Use Filter

Select this check box to narrow the user list as defined by the Define Filter screen.

Define Filter

Opens the Define Filter screen.

Show Columns

Opens the Show Columns screen.

User Name

The user login.

Full Name

The full name that corresponds to the user login.

User Type

An attribute that can be defined by the system administrator.

Auth Type

The type of user: local, global, or external.

Add Token to Step

Access this screen from the Criteria tab by selecting a workflow, selecting a step in the right pane, clicking Add or Edit in the right pane, and clicking Add Token on the Add New Step or Edit Step Step Name screen. Use this screen to assign a variable user token to a step.

Field

Description

Name

Lists the available tokens.

Description

A description of the token.

Edit Additional Exit Condition

Access this screen from the Criteria tab by selecting a workflow, selecting a step in the Steps pane, clicking Add or Edit in the Steps pane, clicking the Exit Conditions tab, and clicking Edit. Use this screen to define exit conditions for a step.

Field

Description

Field

Select the workflow condition or metadata field to be evaluated.

Operator

Select an operator. This is a dependent choice list that shows only the operators associated with the Field option.

Value

Select the value. Depending on which operator is selected, you will see a choice list or a Select button for this field. After you enter a selection from the choice list or Select button, you can type in this field to change the value.

Add

Adds the conditional statement defined by the Field, Operator, and Value fields to the exit condition clause.

Update

Changes the selected conditional statement to the statement defined by the Field, Operator, and Value fields.

Condition Clause

Lists the conditional statements that have been added to the exit condition. Multiple clauses can be appended as AND statements.

Delete

Deletes the selected conditional statement.

Custom Condition Expression

Enables display and edit of the Idoc Script generated from the condition clauses.

Define Filter

Access this screen from the Criteria tab by selecting a workflow, selecting a step in the right pane, clicking Add or Edit in the right pane, clicking Add User on the Add New Step or Edit Step Step Name screen, and clicking Define Filter on the Add User to Step screen. Use this screen to narrow the list of users that is displayed on the Add User to Step screen.

Field

Description

Check boxes

Select one or more check boxes to activate the filter fields.

Fields

The Field value that will cause a file to enter the workflow.

Wildcards can be used in this field. Use standard wildcard values:

* = one or more characters; ? = single character.h

Show Columns

Access this screen from the Criteria tab by selecting a workflow, selecting a step in the right pane, clicking Add or Edit in the right pane, clicking Add User on the Add New Step or Edit Step Step Name screen, and clicking Show Columns on the Add User to Step screen. Use this screen to change the columns that are displayed on the Add User to Step screen.

Field

Description

Check boxes

Selected: The field is displayed on the Add User to Step screen.

Cleared: The field is not displayed on the Add User to Step screen.

Save Settings

Selected: The column settings are applied every time the Add User to Step screen is opened.

Cleared: The column settings apply only until the Add User to Step screen is closed.